natural hair · Uncategorized

The Journey To My Natural Hair Journey

My natural hair journey started about two years ago, I was sixteen years old about to start a new school and wanted to do something different but not sure what exactly this different thing was, until I was on youtube one day and noticed something, the shift in videos about natural hair to those about natural hair and this peaked my interest so every evening after school I would spend hours in my room on youtube watching “natural hair journey ” and “big chop” videos . Without noticing I started to stretch my relaxers longer that usual, before I would relax my hair three times a year instead I was only relaxing my hair twice a year and at nine months post relaxer, I believed I was well on my way to my big chop that was until my mother asked me what I was doing with my hair for back to school and I did not know how to answer her because it was at that moment I realized I was not fully ready to big chop and also I was not fully against the idea of getting a relaxer, the next week I made up my mind and went to the salon to get a relaxer and as soon as the chemical was all over my head I regretted my decision but at that point there was nothing I could do, that day I left the salon unhappy with my decision but also knowing within myself that I would never get another relaxer.

Over the next three months I grew out my hair and during the Christmas break I opted for a protective style ( invisible cornrows) instead of relaxing my hair as I was accustomed doing at that time of year. As the new year rang in and my natural hair started to grow out I started to see my curl pattern and intrigued and excited I started to clip off the straight ends, at first I was only clipping off the straight ends at the back of my head but then I started to clip the middle and eventually the sides; at six months post relaxer I could not wait any longer (let’s face it transitioning is a pain) the two textures were being to be too much for me to handle and I was just tired of looking at those straight ends so I asked my mum to do my clip off the rest of my straight ends and on march 24th 2016 I did my big chop and became 100% natural.

Now almost 10 months natural I know it is the best decision I ever made and I look forward to seeing where this journey takes me.Until the next blog drink water, keep smiling and take care of your crown.

One thought on “The Journey To My Natural Hair Journey

Leave a Reply

